BC Bike Race set for start of 10th year

Ultimate Singletrack Experience includes 300km

Race Coverage
Trails, trails, and more trails. Photo by Dave Silver

Trails, trails, and more trails. Photo by Dave Silver

The BC Bike Race is about to get under way for its 10th edition. This year 600 racers from 36 different countries will contest seven stages over 300km with from July 7-13.

“It’s been a long journey to this point, from working at the kitchen table to having a real office and an amazing team,” said Andreas Hestler, BCBR Co-Founder and marketing manager. “It seems like time has flown by, but here we are after 10 years. The best part being the number of amazing people who have come and shared this adventure with us and become members of our little BCBR tribe.”

British Columbia forest creatures. Photo by Dave Silver

British Columbia forest creatures. Photo by Dave Silver

After initial check-in in North Vancouver, racers will travel via BC Ferries across the Georgia Straight to the first basecamp in Cumberland. Racing begins at 8:30am sharp on July 7, and rolls on for the next six days to its conclusion in Whistler.

While athletes around the world are training hard for the Olympics in Rio, another set of athletes will throw down in British Columbia for some good times, some sweaty times, and the chance to be King or Queen of the Singletrack. With a truly international field this will be a battle royal.

If you build it, they will come. Photo by Dave Silver

If you build it, they will come. Photo by Dave Silver

Here are some of the top competitors taking on this year’s race. For a full competitor list go here.

  • Tristan Uhl – (US) Defending Champion 2015
  • Spencer Paxson – (US) US National Team, US long list Olympics
  • Cory Wallace – (CAN) Canadian Marathon Champion 2014
  • Stephen Ettinger– (US) National Champion 2013, 2011, 2009
  • Frederique Gombert – (US) French Marathon Champion 2016
  • Ricardo Creel – (Mex) Winner of ArmTBike
  • Quinn Moberg – (CAN) 4th Place BC Bike Race
  • Greg Day – Winner of Team of 2, BC Bike Race 2015
  • Anderl Hartmann – (Ger) Marathon Specialist
  • Udo Bolts – (GER) 12 Tour De France rider, Olympian
  • Carston Bresser- (GER) Winner Trans Alp, Winner Cape Epic, Olympian
  • Brian Lopes – (US) 6 x World Champion and Joe Lawill – (US) Masters World Champion
  • Chris Benchleter – (US) Free Skier and Athlete Extraordinaire
  • Kelli Emmett – (US) Former World Cup Racer XCO, Single Speed World Champion, World Cup Enduro Racer
  • Sammi Runnels – (US) Texas State Criterium Champion 2016

About the author: Mtbr

Mtbr.com is a site by mountain bikers for mountain bikers. We are the best online resource for information for mountain bikers of all abilities, ages and interests.

Related Articles

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





mtbr.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.