Source: Dain Zaffke, WTB

For more Downieville updates/results/race reports from the Mtbr community: check out this forum thread in the Norcal forum

This year’s Downieville Classic saw some big changes. The event
became the inaugural All-Mountain World Championships, the XC course
gained two more miles of ripping singletrack and, for the first time
in years, Team WTB didn’t dominate everything.

Downieville view

The weekend started with a completely sold-out field of 800 riders
departing Sierra City, California for the point-to-point XC race.
Chris Sheppard (Santa Cruz/WTB) and Ross Schnell (Trek) were the
first two riders to crest the 3,000-foot climb. At the Downieville
Classic, however, the race is won and lost on the rugged descent in
to downtown Downieville. The first victim of the rough landscape was
Sheppard, who sliced a rear tire while trailing Jason Moeschler (Team
WTB/Santa Cruz) through the infamous “Babyheads” section.

Jason Moeschler

“I passed Sheppard just before we dropped in to Babyheads,” said
Moeschler. “I showed him all of my best lines through the rocks and
I guess he flatted.” Moeschler expected to catch Schnell in a
similar fashion, but the Trek rider hit the finish line first, with a
2:30-minute gap over Moeschler. Mark Weir (Team WTB/Santa Cruz)
crossed the line a minute later in third. WTB teammates Moeschler and
Weir spent Saturday evening strategizing how to capture the All-
Mountain title.

“Schnell proved his strength in the XC,” Weir stated. “I’m
normally really careful and conservative in my race run. This year I
knew I couldn’t afford to be conservative. It had to be all or

Weir, the seven-time Downieville DH champ, left the starting gate
first with a clear track ahead of him. He hit every split in record
time and was ten seconds ahead of last year’s winning pace just two
miles into the course. “I’ve never felt so good in my life,”
Weir explained. “I kept looking at my times and just got more and
more excited. I was on track for a sub 43-minute run.” Last year
Weir’s winning time was 46:14.


Disaster struck on the upper section of the First Divide trail—
Weir’s rear tire was going soft. “I rode, fully-pinned, for a
couple miles with about 4-p.s.i., but eventually I had to take the
tire off,” he said. Weir charged past crowds of spectators on a bare
rim, still on track to beat last year’s time. When he hit the
pavement—for the final run in to town—the rim finally gave out and
he was forced to walk. Because Weir’s bike was incomplete at the
finish, he was disqualified.

“I haven’t flatted all year,” he said. “And today was my
smoothest race run ever. I guess
that’s racing, it’s a crap shoot.”

Schnell won the downhill with a time of 44:35. Moeschler finished
less than a minute later in second place and Nathan Riddle (Team
Fluidride) finished third. Legendary racer Myles Rockwell (Giant/
SRAM) came in fourth and four-time world champion Brian Lopes (Ibis)
finished fifth.

In the overall All-Mountain Pro standings, six of the top ten riders
were on WTB WeirWolf LT tires, but the title of All-Mountain World
Champion went to Schnell. Moeschler claimed the second spot and
Sheppard settled for third.

1. Ross Schnell “1:56:58.1” “44:35.1 “2:41:33”

2. Jason Moeschler “1:59:35.6” “45:27.4 2:45:02”

3. Chris Sheppard “2:02:15.0” “48:53.7 2:51:08”

4. Mike Vine “2:03:10.0” “50:03.9 2:53:13”

5. Sean Donovan “2:05:32.9” “49:52.0 2:55:04”

6. Nathan Riddle “2:10:34.0” “45:38.1 2:56:12”

7. Harlan Price “2:07:58.5” “49:01.4 2:56:59”

8. Dain Zaffke “2:11:19.7” “49:08.9 3:00:27 ”

9. Dana Weber “2:12:31.8” “49:40.1 3:02:11”

10. Mark Jordan “2:13:55.1” “48:56.2 3:02:51”

On the women’s side, Rachel Lloyd (Team ProMan/WTB) swept both
stages and easily claimed the All-Mountain World Champion title.
Susan Haywood (Trek/VW) took the second overall. Of the women’s pro
field, five of the top ten were riding WTB tires.

1. Rachel Lloyd “2:20:52.1” “51:05.6 3:11:57”

2. Susan Haywood “2:22:41.8 “53:37.1 3:16:18”

3. Sarah Maile “2:41:15.1” “1:00:36.0 3:41:41”

4. Jamie Stamps “59:30.6 3:44:17”

5. Maureen Kunz “2:47:16.3” “1:00:09.5 3:47:25”

6. Tiffany Allmandinger “2:51:06.6” “58:08.9 3:49:14”

7. Abby Hippely “2:55:59 “56:39.3 3:52:38”

8. Jackie Baker “2:52:15.5” “1:00:45.1 “3:53:00”

9. Niki Gudex “2:59:21.6” “1:01:34.3 “4:00:55”

10. Corina Bigham “3:02:46.6” “1:00:58.3 “4:03:44

Full results can be found at more
information and photos can be found at

source: Dain Zaffke, WTB

For more Downieville updates/results/race reports from the Mtbr community: check out this forum thread in the Norcal forum

About the author: Gregg Kato

Gregg Kato studied journalism and broadcasting in college while working many different jobs including deejaying, driving a forklift and building web sites (not all at the same time). Kato enjoys riding local Santa Cruz trails. Besides being an avid mountain biker, he is also a motorcycle fanatic. Two wheels, one Passion.

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Wordpress Comments:

  • Photo-John says:

    Nice report, Gregg! Sorry I couldn’t be there this year. I was bummed. And it looks like it was a really interesting race weekend. I also note that Niki Gudex raced. Where are those photos, Forrest?! 😀

  • Ross flats all the time ans still wins…

    Ross is the new champion of this event who apparently broke both course records. How about writing about someones positive highlights rather than the excuses that everyone including Mark has for not winning.

  • Francois says:

    >> How about writing about someones positive highlights rather than the excuses that everyone including Mark has for not winning.

    Sorry about the confusion. This is just a WTB press release about how their sponsored racers did. The source was quoted at the bottom but we moved that to the top as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




VISIT US AT and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.