Josh Tostado and Jari Kirkland Win Solo Titles at 24-Hour Mountain Bike Nationals



Moab, Utah (Oct. 10, 2010) – Thirteen national titles were awarded on Sunday as the nation’s top ultra-endurance mountain bikers wrapped up 24 grueling hours of racing at the USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships, which for the second year in a row were held in conjunction with the 24-Hours of Moab.

Josh Tostado (Breckenridge, Colo.) successfully defended his title in the men’s solo division, completing 18 laps of the 15-mile circuit to take the win over rival Kelly Magelky (Golden, Colo.) who completed 17 laps for the silver medal, and Cary Smith (Austin, Texas) who raced 16 laps for the bronze.

Jari Kirkland (Crested Butte, Colo.) put forth a dominating performance to win the women’s solo category, putting 14 laps under her belt to ride into the Stars-and-Stripes jersey. Grabbing the silver medal was Kris Cannon (Steamboat, Colo.) with 13 laps while Laureen Coffelt (Memphis, Tenn.) completed 12 laps for the bronze.

On his singlespeed bike, Cameron Chambers (Colorado Springs, Colo.) completed 16 laps and climbed onto the top step of the podium in the men’s solo singlespeed contest. He beat out second-place finisher Shawn Gregory (Cortez, Colo.) and third-place rider Brian Lehman (Denver, Colo.) who completed 15 and 14 laps respectively.

Cat Morrison (Grand Junction, Colo.) rode for eleven laps on her singlespeed to earn the national title in the Women’s Solo Singlespeed Championship over silver medalist Karen Rishel (Las Cruces, NM) and bronze medalist Heather Thiry (MCCall, Idaho)

The Honey Stinger/Trek duo of Sarah Anderson (Glenwood Springs, Colo.) and Max Taam (Snowmass Village, Colo.) finished 19 laps, beating their nearest opponents by two laps, to take the victory in the Mixed Duo Championship.

The Hammer Duo of Ben Parsons (Kalispell, Mont.) and Clint Muhlfeld (Whitefish, Mont.) defeated six other pairs in the men’s duo championship, completing 20 laps for their Stars-and-Stripes jerseys.

The Lil’ Girls on Big Wheels duo of Kara Holley and Sarah Kaufmann (Ogden, Utah) won the Women’s Duo national title after riding for 16 laps.

With a total of 22 laps, the Honey Stinger/Trek fouresome of Len Zanni (Carbondale, Colo.), Kalan Beisel (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Ross Schnell (Grand Junction, Colo.), and Jay Henry (Avon, Colo.) took the national title in the Men’s 4-Person competition.

Covering 16 laps in 24 hours, the Kent Brothers Women’s Team of Heidi Gaskill (Missoula, Mont.), Anya Weschler, Heidi Rentz (Moab, Utah), and Laurel Douglas (Missoula, Mont.) earned the podium’s top step in the Women’s 4-Person category.

The Quadruple Gnar II squad of Casey Williams (Big Bear City, Calif.), Tyler Coplea (Fountain Hills, Ariz.), Travis Glysson (Marana, Ariz.), and Zach Valdez (Hemet, Calif.) covered 19 laps for a total of 285 miles to take the national title in the Men’s Junior (18 & under) competition.

The Men’s Masters (35+) competition was quite close with the top two squads both completing a whopping 20 laps of the 15-mile circuit and the victory going to the Basalt Bike & Ski/ESC squad of Jason Lapointe (Carbondale, Colo.), Joel Mischke (Basalt, Colo.), Charlie Eckart (Aspen, Colo.), and Mike Scanlon (Snowmass Village, Colo.) in the end.

The Nutzy Girlz Justin’s/Titus team of Coreen Wright (Evergreen, Colo.), Kay Levesque (Boulder, Colo.), Stacy Moller (Golden, Colo.), and Michelle Slingsby (Arvada, Colo.) took the top step of the podium in the Women’s Masters (35+) group with 15 laps.

Justin’s Nuts team of Michael Hogan (Louisville, Colo.), Drew Greer, Keith Sanders, (Winter Park, Colo.) and Thomas Dooley (Boulder, Colo.) combined their efforts to complete 19 laps over the 24 hours to grab the national title in the Men’s Masters (45+) group.

It was the second year in a row that the 24-Hours of Moab hosted the USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships. In addition to all of the championship categories that were contested, riders competed in various non-championship categories in both 12 and 24-hour divisions.

For complete results for both the championship and non-championship categories in Moab, please CLICK HERE.

2010 USA Cycling 24-Hour Mountain Bike National Championships

Moab, Utah

October 9-10, 2010

Men’s Solo Championship
Josh Tostado (Breckenridge, Colo.)

Women’s Solo Championship
Jari Kirkland (Crested Butte, Colo.)

Men’s Solo Singlespeed Championship
Cameron Chambers (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Women’s Solo Singlespeed Championship
Cat Morrison (Grand Junction, Colo.)

Mixed Duo Championship
Honey Stinger/Trek duo

Men’s Duo Championship
The Hammer Duo

Women’s Duo Championship
The Lil’ Girls on Big Wheels

Men’s 4-Person Championship
Honey Stinger/Trek team

Women’s 4-Person Championship
Kent Brothers Women’s Team

Men’s Junior (18 & under) Championship
Quadruple Gnar II

Men’s Masters (35+) Championship
Basalt Bike & Ski/ESC

Women’s Masters (35+) Championship
Nutzy Girlz Justin’s/Titus

Men’s Masters (45+) Championship
Justin’s Nuts

About USA Cycling

Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX and cyclo-cross. As a membership-based organization, USA Cycling comprises 66,500+ licensees; 2,200 clubs and teams; and 34 local associations. The national governing body sanctions 2,650 competitive and non-competitive events throughout the U.S. each year and is responsible for the identification, development, and support of American cyclists. To learn more about USA Cycling, visit

About 24 Hours of Moab

Since its inception in 1995, the 24 Hours of Moab has earned a reputation as one of the largest and most prestigious 24-hour races in the world. Rightly so, Moab, Utah is recognized, around the world, as the Mecca of mountain biking. The 24 Hours of Moab is also unique in that it is operated in a completely remote venue, 12 miles from the nearest utilities. Each year, a mountain bike city grows up in the high-desert grazelands hosting 4,000+ racers, support crew and spectators. This amazing location provides a 15-mile race course that is breathtakingly scenic and brutally challenging. Typically, teams and soloists together, log more than 79,000 miles and more than 1,300 miles of vertical elevation gain during this epic event.

About Granny Gear Productions

Granny Gear Productions, a sports marketing and event production company, has earned a reputation as the mountain biking’s most innovative and successful event organizer. In 2000, GGP created its unprecedented and unrivaled RealTimeTM Scoring System, that tracks every rider and every lap, posting results for every team in real-time on the web. With more than 26 years as a mountain bike race organizer, Granny Gear President and CEO, Laird Knight, created the 24-hour racing format in 1991. In 2001, Knight became West Virginia Tourism’s Person-of-the-Year and in 2002, Knight was inducted into The Mountain Bike Hall of Fame.


Keri S. Kahn

USA Cycling, Inc.

Communication Manager

Follow us! Twitter Facebook You Tube

About the author: Mtbr is a site by mountain bikers for mountain bikers. We are the best online resource for information for mountain bikers of all abilities, ages and interests.

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




VISIT US AT and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.