Reviewed: SRAM X01 1×11 – Evolution or Revolution?

Components
Product Introduction by: Brian Mullin
YouTube Preview Image

Video: SRAM X01 All for One

The XX1 group brought 1×11 gearing technology to the masses last year, and it has proven itself for both racers and consumers. It offers snappy quick shifting, simplicity, lighter weight and good chain retention capabilities. The not very secret SRAM X01 group has been officially announced to the world, and the new brethren of the XX1 are cheaper and has the same basic technologies and designs, with some subtle changes and alterations for cost savings. While not exactly inexpensive, it does decrease the cost for entry to the SRAM 1×11 drivetrain system, with only a small weight penalty.

In a nutshell, in direct comparison to XX1, the crankset uses a different BCD, a less sculptured rear derailleur and chain, shifters with aluminum cable covers, and a cassette with a new durable coating.

The crankset uses carbon fiber crank arms and an aluminum spider, but forgoes the more expensive to produce XX1′s 76mm BCD (bolt circle diameter), and goes with a 94mm BCD. Unfortunately, this conversion means there’s no room for a 28-tooth chainring, so they’ll only be available in 30, 32, 34, 36 and 38 sizes, but it does mean they’ll now offer an optional chainring guard option. The CNC machined aluminum chainrings use the X-SYNC tooth profile for better chain control and retention. The cranks will come in red and black, 170 and 175mm arm lengths, BB30 and GXP bottom bracket options, wide and narrow Q-factor, weigh around 655 grams and retail for $279 (no chainring or BB). The chainrings will retail from $98 to $127, depending on sizing.

For 29er riders and those that like low granny gear ratios, the loss of the 28-tooth chainring is a big deal, so you might see many people using the XX1 crankset with the rest of the X01 system.

  • New patented X-SYNC™ tooth profile provides maximum chain control
  • Carbon arms with forged aluminum spider
  • Chainring guard option
  • New spider design allows for easier ring changes
  • CNC- X-SYNC™ machined rings (30-32-34-36-38)
  • Colors: Red and Black
  • Weight: 655g (with BB)

The X01 gets all the XX1 technology, including the X-HORIZON horizontal parallelogram design, the 12-tooth X-SYNC pulley wheels, carbon-fiber cage and TYPE 2 rolling bearing clutch. The only difference I can tell between the X01 and XX1, is some more sculpturing of the derailleur body. The X01 rear derailleur comes in red and black, weigh 252 grams and retails for $269.

  • Large upper pulley offset automatically adjusts chain gap
  • X-HORIZON™ design reduces shift force and ghost shifting
  • 12-tooth X-SYNC™ pulley wheels
  • TYPE 2 technologies: ROLLING BEARING CLUTCH™ and CAGE LOCK™
  • Carbon or aluminum cage
  • Sealed cartridge bearings
  • Colors: Red and Black
  • Weight: 252g

The X01 shifters gets an aluminum top cover instead of the XX1′s carbon fiber, but they still use the X-ACTUATION shifting and Zero Loss Travel design. The X01 trigger shifters comes in red and black, weigh 91 grams and retail for $139.

  • SRAM 1X™ X-ACTUATION™ for precise and dependable 11-speed performance
  • Zero Loss Engagement for fastest shifting
  • Multi-adjustable trigger shifter
  • MatchMaker X compatible
  • Aluminum cover and adjustable forged aluminum pull lever
  • Includes discrete clamp
  • Colors: Red and Black
  • Weight: 91g

The X01 Grip Shift gets an aluminum cable cover instead of the XX1′s carbon fiber, but they still use the X-ACTUATION shifting, SPEED METAL shift indexing and ROLLING THUNDER ball bearing technology. The X01 Grip Shift comes in red and black, weigh 143 grams and retail for $139 with the JAWS lock-on grips.

  • SRAM 1X™ X-ACTUATION™ for precise and dependable 11-speed performance
  • SPEED METAL™ shift indexing
  • ROLLING THUNDER™ ball bearing technology
  • JAWS™ lock-on grip technology
  • Aluminum cover
  • Includes lock-on grips
  • Colors: Red and Black
  • Weight: 143g (clamps, cable and JAWS™ lock-on grip)

The X01 cassette uses a new dark finish, which is supposed to be more durable and long lasting. They use the same XX1 manufacturing technique to create the cassette; they CNC a solid block of 4130 chromoly steel into a 10-speed system, and then pin on a 42-tooth cog. The X01 X-DOME cassette has the same 10-12-14-16-18-21-24-28-32-36-42 gear ratio as the XX1, attaches to the XD driver body, weighs 275 grams and retails for a whopping $399.

  • Unique finish for high durability
  • 11-speeds (10-12-14-16-18-21-24-28-32-36-42)
  • XD™ Driver Body creates more stable hub connection
  • Optimized Gear steps across entire range
  • Weight: 275g

The X01 chain uses the same HARD CHROME plating and hollow pins as the XX1, but doesn’t have the XX1 weigh saving cutouts between the pins. The chain retails for $63.

  • New 1X™ specific chain
  • HARD CHROME™ technology for maximum strength and wear resistance
  • Proprietary link finish provides improved life span
  • 11-speed power lock
Reviewed: SRAM X01 1×11 – Evolution or Revolution Gallery
1
of
×

Specialized Stumpjumper EVO with SRAM XX1 Drivetrain

Specialized Stumpjumper EVO with SRAM XX1 Drivetrain
×

Specialized Enduro 29 with SRAM XX1 Drivetrain

Specialized Enduro 29 with SRAM XX1 Drivetrain
×

Specialized Camber Evo with SRAM X01 Drivetrain

Specialized Camber Evo with SRAM X01 Drivetrain
×

Intense Carbine 29 with SRAM X01 Drivetrain

Intense Carbine 29 with SRAM X01 Drivetrain
×

Santa Cruz 5010 With SRAM XX1 Drivetrain

Santa Cruz 5010 With SRAM XX1 Drivetrain
×

Santa Cruz Bronson with SRAM XX1 Drivetrain

Santa Cruz Bronson with SRAM XX1 Drivetrain
×

Fezzari Timp Peak with SRAM X01 Drivetrain

Fezzari Timp Peak with SRAM X01 Drivetrain
Niner WFO9 with SRAM X01
×

Niner WFO9 with SRAM X01

×

Trek Fuel 29 with SRAM XO1

×

Specialized Enduro with SRAM XO1 Chainring

×

Specialized Enduro with SRAM XO1 Shifter

×

Specialized Enduro with SRAM XO1 shifters

×

Specialized Enduro with SRAM XO1

×

SRAM XO1 crank

×

SRAM XO1 cockpit

×

Specialized with SRAM XO1

×

Specialized with SRAM XO1

×

Specialized Stumpjumper with SRAM XO1 in Copper, CO

×

Specialized Enduro with SRAM XO1

×

Specialized Stumpjumper with SRAM XO1

×

1x11 Poll

×

SRAM X01

SRAM X01 chain
×

SRAM X01

SRAM X01 10-42 Cassette
×

SRAM X01

SRAM X01 Grip Shift
×

SRAM X01

SRAM X01 Trigger Shifters
×

SRAM X01

SRAM X01 X-Horizon rear derailleur
×

SRAM X01

SRAM X01 Crankset
(Visited 64,071 times, 20 visits today)
About the author: Francis Cebedo

The founder of mtbr and roadbikereview, Francis Cebedo believes that every cyclist has a lot to teach and a lot to learn. "Our websites are communal hubs for sharing cycling experiences, trading adventure stories, and passing along product information and opinions." Francis' favorite bike is the last bike he rode, whether it's a dirt jumper, singlespeed, trail bike, lugged commuter or ultralight carbon road steed. Indeed, Francis loves cycling in all its forms and is happiest when infecting others with that same passion. Francis also believes that IPA will save America.


Related Articles


NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:



Wordpress Comments:

  • Mike says:

    Its cheaper to convert my existing XTR into 1×10 setup by purchasing the front chain ring and shortening the chain. than purchasing the XX1 or X01.

  • JC says:

    Wow,,,do I pay my mortgage or buy a bike part? Good job bike snobs. Mtn Biking is heading the same direction as fly fishing.

    • MC says:

      Agreed. There are options available for $40. Plus if you sell the hardware that you take off during the conversion, you may actually come out ahead.
      $400 cassette? You could buy a decent bike for this 5 years ago.

  • eb1888 says:

    I picked up a couple 1×10 XT cassettes earlier this year at 50 each. They are a wear item after all. The XO cassette is $25 less than the XX1. That is $400. With a 15% discount still seven times the cost for a wear item. It is not something I’m considering.

  • Dale Burton says:

    This might work for UCI races, but for normal folk it probably won’t do for most rides. Yesterday, I did the 50KM loop from Canmore Nordic Centre to Banff and back to Canmore NC. Doing it clockwise leaves you with an 18-KM downhill (well most of the way) to Banff. I stayed in 42-11 for long sections and my legs were spining. 1×10-er would probably be left behind, so I’ll be sticking with the Shimano XT triple chanrings.

  • EP says:

    It seems great for certain types of riders and terrain. A 28-42 or even 30-42 is not substantially different from the typical easiest gear on an X/C double. But 28-10 or 30-10 isn’t close to as hard a gear as you need to maximize speed for many cross country races/rides. Pros and experts can probably use a bigger front ring and be in good shape in a lot of places. And of course, there’s the whole universe beyond racers – people to whom singlespeed has a certain appeal but proves a bit too difficult should really like this compromise option.

  • AS says:

    I do believe this is the perfect setup for the areas that I ride and my riding style. But for $1,300 plus the cost of a new compatible hub, I’m going to have to wait until this is an OEM option or I get a big promotion.

  • rob black says:

    Another vote for X9. I’d buy that tomorrow.

  • Cortney Jay says:

    I just kept my current rear derailleur, cassette, and chain (10 spd) and put on the XX1 crank. Works like a charm and I have a 1×10 for only $290. Minimal chain slap and I’ve yet to have the chain come off in any circumstance, including Porcupine Rim. I love it!

    • MC says:

      I’ll raise you one: X9 drive drain that was stock on my bike, converted to 1×10 by just removing front shifter, rings, shortening chain and installing $35 Race Face narrow/wide ring :) No chain drop with regular type1 derailleur.

  • I'mRight says:

    As soon as you make your last payment for this they’ll release electric shifting for mountain bikes.

  • Happy Bill says:

    I have to say that i was initally sceptical of the 1 X systems. But having converted my bike to a 1×10 and having a few months on it i have to say it is a great way to ride. In 20 plus years i have never had such a quiet and well working drivetrain off road.

    That said its price that will keep me from this group. Seriously im not going to ever put 400.00 in to a cassette. Not going to happen. Not when i can simply by a new chainring up front and shorten the chain. I really dont see a need for a 42, not when i can simply buy a smaller front ring and be done with it.

    For those of you who love this and have to have it, awesome. Enjoy it. But for a vast majority of the mtn bikers i have ever rode with a 1X9 or 1X10 conversion is the way to go. Now if you want to dump the money cause your drive train is completely shot. This appears to be a more affordable altertintive.

    Nice artical, thanks for the info.
    Bill

  • Dale Burton says:

    I watched the UCI xc in Montreal where the women on 29-er’s and 1×11 were pushing on the hills. The men on the same set up just about rode the steep sections. These are pro’s and they struggled. So, I tested this my self. I have XT 32-t middle ring and 11-36. I rode the normal trails I do locally and the ones in the mountains that are steep and rough. For the local trails it wasn’t too bad, I was actually surprised how easy it was, but there were s

  • Dale Burton says:

    (smart phones) sections that were too steep for the set up and I pushed. In the mountains it was more of a challenge and certainly more tiring. I in both instances the top speeds I normally see down hill were never achieved. The bike I was using was a Trek Remedy, 26-er at sub 27-lbs.

    The New 1×11 is too expensive and it’s a step backwards in some respects.

  • Johan says:

    I think this is great. However due to the need of a new rear wheel, I would only go this way once I’m ready to purchase a new bike.

    That being said, the gearing is limited and this would only be for a bike where I ride/race sub 65 miles. 36/42 will be fine but after 50 or 60 miles of climbing I might want something lower. Also going with a 30T or 30T front ring will leave you spinning on the flats and downhills too much. Great idea and will suit MOST riding that MOST stronger riders will do. However this is not a do-it-all bike.

    When buying a new bike I think this will definitely be the way I go. For now my other bikes stay 2×9.

  • Johan says:

    I meant 30T or 32T front ring….

  • acmi says:

    I’ll stick with my 3×10, thanks. My FD very rarely gives me problems. I need the granny gear on my 29er for steep climbs, and we ride to the trailhead most of the time, so the big ring is great for that.

  • Tom says:

    Yep, this 11×1 system is useless for me. I have thought about trying 2X10
    Just to much climbing gear lost. I like long rides with Steep climbs. It is entertaining watching the guys on there 5+ grand bikes dismount while I ride past them on my 31 pound triple equipped bike.

  • Don't be poor says:

    Worth the money… Yes. Stop crying, you could buy a bike at goodwill for the cost of the chain, so what. The newest and best is expensive. If you can’t afford it dont try it, because there is no going back once you do.

  • Tom says:

    The one thing that this article glosses over is the actual gearing available with the 1×11 set ups. Check out this blog article on how 1×11 gearing almost has the same range as a triple and a greater range than a double http://blog.artscyclery.com/mountain/is-a-single-chainring-set-up-really-better/

    • Benja says:

      That’s very helpful. I’ve run the math myself and came up with similar conclusions. I’m running XX1 and love it. 1×11 with a dropper and I’m happy. There will be rides I suffer a bit more on, but so far I haven’t found them. I’ve cleaned everything that I used to run a granny on.

  • Francis Cebedo says:

    >>http://blog.artscyclery.com/mountain/is-a-single-chainring-set-up-really-better/

    Great info!!!

    But how do you conclude it has greater range than a double?

  • Jimmymats says:

    Good article here and the link Tom posted. The only double config the 1 x 11 has greater range than is 32/24 front x 11 x 36 rear. All the other doubles had greater range. Still interesting you can get close, though still can’t justify the expense of 1 x 11!

  • Motor Cycle says:

    Spesh Comp Carbon EvoR 2012 came set up with xo 1 x technology. I love it. All I ever needed!

  • Giblet says:

    Was getting tired of a dropped chain on my old 9 speed triple system, race face with XTR, so looked at this when it first came out. Shocked at the cost of the cassette and being a self confessed tight arse looked for options. The cost of the crank was between XT and XTR and bearable and matched it to an XT cassette and type 2 deraileur and XTR 10 speed shifter. All in all friggen love it, quiet, no chain suck when it is wet, no chain slap, sharp shifts. I run a 34 front 36 rear that gets me up anything I used to be able to do on the old system including big long 25 % climbs, shorter steeper pinches, I was never a spinner anyway. Sharp fast transitions from flat to a short steep can still catch you out since you have to shift through the entire cassette. On the whole if you have the legs, get the front crank (or similar) and go with 1 x 10 and you have as good a system without the huge bucks.

  • Mtn Rider says:

    The gearing isn’t low enough for extended Rocky mtn climbs, especially for a 29er. They need a bigger cassette than a 42 THEN I will think about converting to a 1x setup, until then I’ll stick with the wider range on my 2x setup.

  • EpicAndy says:

    SRAM devised nothing. The narrow-wide profile on gear teeth has been around for agriculture for longer than mountain biking has existed. That’s why RaceFace and WolfTooth can use the same profile without SRAM suing them into the ground Specialized-style.

    SRAM 1X11 = 1400
    Wolftooth front ring to adapt 2X10 to 1X10 = $68

    Hmmm. Smart money’s on the attainable upgrade. Leave the $1,400 upgrade to the dentists.

  • Mark says:

    Would be nice if this article recognized the fact that on mtbr and elsewhere, people are noticing premature drivetrain wear issues with 1X11. It’s not rocket science…chains work best when they are in a reasonably straight line. This is one of the inherent advantages of having a 2X rather than a 1X crankset.

  • Francis Cebedo says:

    >Would be nice if this article recognized the fact that on mtbr and elsewhere, people are noticing premature drivetrain wear issues with 1X11. It’s not rocket science…chains work best when they are in a reasonably straight line. This is one of the inherent advantages of having a 2X rather than a 1X crankset.

    This may be reversed. We think a 1x drivetrain has a straighter chainline than a 2x or a 3x. The reason is the chainring is dead center and there is no cross-chaining situation ever.

    As far as premature wear, XO is still too new. And of all the XX users we know, no one has had to change a cogset yet. The claim from SRAM is it will last just as long as their 2×10 systems do.

    • dsut4392 says:

      No one has had to change a cassette yet? Are you guys riding in a clean room or something? I’ve destroyed an XT cassette and chainring in one muddy weekend of not much over 100 miles, despite swapping in a new chain overnight.

      The only real advantages of going single-ring are being able to ditch the front derailleur, and changing the tooth profile to reduce chain drop. The guff about chainline is just marketing spin and you should know it. Running a single chainring gives a straighter chainline than being a wally and riding your triple in the big-big or small-small gear combinations. It’s just like riding a triple around in the middle chainring all day, but without having to trim your derailleur for chain rub. If you use a triple like you’re meant to, your chainline will be straighter still.

  • chris dalton says:

    I run a 1 x 10, shimano XT with the shadow + function. I ride a 36 pnd 7″ travel freeride bike, which I try to ride “all-mountain” but with only a 11-36 cassette & 36 front ring I’m lacking in the low gear dept. I’d love to try the 11sp set-up but with an XT rear hub I’d be required to get a new hub & rebuild the wheel to run the XD driver.

  • MC says:

    just get the $35 Race Face ring people and call it a day. You need nothing more to get your chain drop under control.

  • JimmyDee says:

    Give me a break. I’ve always been able to use 2 up front without any real issue. 3 up front can give a little rub now and then, but I can live with that on the bike that has a triple in the front.

    I’ve just never encountered any real problems from using front derailleurs. I can see that it might be fun to run a single plus a Rohloff, but only for a limited use bike – ie a commuter.

    2 of my bikes have triples and both of them have ridden North Shore and Van Isle.

    I ride XT Deore and XTR. 12 years on one derailleur (parts replaced).

    I would always prefer to run 2 in the front if for no other reason than chainline. With 9+ gears in the back, you are always going to run into bad chainline with one in the front.

    I am not light enough to take those kind of liberties with my chain when I’m 3 hours away from anything.

  • roger says:

    If you need one on these: (A) you need to spend more time riding, (B) See A.

  • Andy says:

    I never understand forums where people bag others for being able to afford new revolutionary kit. As someone else said here, if you cant afford it don’t buyit, but dont bag it.

    Lambos cost $900k , i cant afford it, but man they are hot.

  • Andy says:

    Oh, and yes i have X01 on my Blur XC Carbon with Carbon Easton wheels, too much for. Ya? Bad luck,

  • David Simons says:

    Seems highly expensive way to shift less gears. Tried a 1×11 and a 2×10 on demo bikes before buying my latest Trek, and 2×10 is far superior. And, I’ve never met a knowledgable mtb’er who has had serious problems with either the design or weight of a Shimano Deore/SLX/XT/XTR front derailleur

  • Andrew Tyerman says:

    I love it, but for Now i sticking with 1×9, basically just cant justify the costs when i can use a guide, or a Blackspire Monoveloce chainring and get away with my 12/36 cassete for now. Just wish the would make a rear mech that would work ok with 9 or 10s drive trains hthat works he same way. Then they might be able to convert a lot more of us, that cant afford a $300 or $400 fo a cassette!

  • Leonard says:

    i’m interested in 1×11, but think that its way too expensive. SRAM seems to marketing to the same people who attend ski resorts. That is to say, they think that all of their customers are uber wealthy and can afford outrageous prices for their products. They are also doing little dickish marketing moves that will bump you up to their higher, more expensive product category like making the xo1 crank only accept a 30 tooth ring when the xo will run a 28 (and the xo is only like $150 more). Another example is their mid priced 10 speed mountain cassette is only available with a 12 tooth cog as the smallest with a 36 tooth large cog. The xg1080 (I think) is available with an 11 tooth in an 11×36 configuration for almost $180 more! I really interested in the 42 tooth replacement cogs, as well as high range, 3rd party cog sets to displace the monopolistic douchery that SRAM is prone to. I used to bemoan Shimano for their monopoly, but have grown to favor their house over time. I will likely be finding a shimano wide range, 11-36 cassette to replace my sram 12-36 when it dies. Perhaps it will be a super wide range 10 speed unit that suggests sram it where the sun don’t shine.

  • Keith says:

    Leonard, SRAM offers the 1030, 1050, and 1070 cassettes in the 11-36 combo. There is no doubt that 1 x 11 is expensive and will likely trickle down over the years. I imagine most people will switch to one of the many available spiderless chainrings when i comes time to replace their SRAM Narrow-wide one. The spiderless are lighter and less expensive in most cases.

  • XR600 says:

    The jump from 10 to 12 teeth is far too big!
    It needs to be 10,11,12,14… with bigger jumps at the other end to compensate.
    With such a narrow gear range, and a small front chainring, the 10 & 12 tooth rear sprockets are going to be used all the time, and during average speeds. Shifting between 10 & 12 and back, the jump will be excessive. Although not ideal, the jumps are less of an issue at the other end of the cassette.

  • roger says:

    The title is laughfable! People have been running 1X setups for a while. SRAM only added 11 gears in the rear. NO, it’s neither an evolution or revolution.

  • roger says:

    This is pure marketing for SRAM, but they are laughing all the way to the bank. People who needs this don’t ride enough and are posers to begin with.

    • wheel-man says:

      Roger, most racers (XC, or enduro, or ultra-distance) are now using 1×11. It does give a competitive edge. I ride around 10,000 miles per year and race competitively on all types of terrain and a variety disciplines. I’m not a poser and I do find it to provide an advantage both in terms of weight, reliability and simplicity. Other top amateurs (who have to pay for their own gear) seem to agree and are voting with their wallets.

  • uno says:

    There will always be technological advances, some better then others (bring them on). This is not why we ride, is it? I’m still riding a 26, thinking maybe 29. Now with 27, not sure. Carbon, dropper post? Choices are endless, some can afford changes every year. One thing I’m sure is that we are all enjoying the sport, the comradrie. New stuff always cost more…….someone had to develop it / or take the risk. Just keep having fun & wait for when you look for your next new ride.

  • Tom says:

    So (lots) more money for less equipment? Maybe this will help SRAM recover from their road bike disk brake fiasco?

    I rode it, and the drop in gearing from the 36 to the 42 is HUGE. Makes first gear seem more like an “I give up now” bail out gear than a real option, especially in a racing scenario.

    And remember, the mechanical efficiency of a 10t sprocket is truly horrendous. For that matter, an 11t isn’t very good, either.

    For me, the tradeoffs of going double instead of triple pencil out, but not 1X, at least not if you live in the mountains.

  • Kartturi says:

    While I’m all for giving credit where credit is due, and SRAM was apparently the first to come up with a great 1-by-system with a gear range that’s usable for most riders, I’d love to see a cost/benefit-analysis on the SRAM XX-/O1 versus the alternatives.

    More specifically, thinking of my own situation I would be a) facing spending up to a Grand to update the full SRAM drive train and possibly also facing getting a new rear wheel and at the very least a new cassette body altogether a grand or more, versus b) getting just one of the multiple narrow-wide chain rings from e.g. Race Face or Wolf Tooth Components and any of the 42t cogs including WTC Giant Cog, OneUp Components 42t or a Leonardi Racing General Lee to use with my existing 11-36 cassette, and possibly a new clutch type derailleur and in the worst case a set of cranks, which would set me back in the ballpark between 150 (just the chain ring and cog) and 500 (crank, chain ring, cog and derailleur) dollars, in sum less than a half of the SRAM option.

    So I would be very interested to see some data and/or insight whether there is a tangible benefit to XX/-O1 over the next best thing that would justify the cost.

  • Dave says:

    When I changed from 3×8 to 2×10 it was a revolution. Now I ride a 1×11…it’s unbelievable how much better it is. I must not be that great of a rider (according to prior posts) because I suffered from most of the problems stated in the article about front derailleurs. I ride daily at Aliso Woods and get passed occasionally by pros on Mathis Trail (Top of the World)…every one of them on a 1×11. Fact is, you’ll ride on what you’re comfort zone is. But if you’re a (pro) riding on a 3×10 setup…you’re at a disadvantage from the start.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*