Stellar field set to compete in MTB Marathon Nationals Saturday in Bend


Colorado Springs, Colo. (September 12, 2012) — The 2012 USA Cycling Mountain Bike Marathon National Championships are set for Saturday, Sept. 15 at Wanoga Sno Park in Bend, Ore. In addition to the coveted Stars-and-Stripes jerseys, the top-five finishers in each of the professional men’s and women’s races will split a $1,000 purse.

Among the riders already registered to contest the event are defending national champion Adam Craig (Bend, Ore./Rabobank-Giant), 2011 runner-up Carl Decker (Bend, Ore./Giant Factory), Colin Cares (Boulder, Colo./Kenda-Felt), Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek), Spencer Paxson (Seattle, Wash./Kona Bicycles) and three-time Olympian and the winner of the 2012 USA Cycling Pro Cross-Country Tour (Pro XCT) men’s standings Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized Racing).

Among the professional/elite women vying for a Stars-and-Stripes jersey are defending national champion and the winner of the2012 USA Cycling Pro Ultra-Endurance Tour (Pro UET) women’s standings Monique “Pua” Mata (Yucaipa, Calif./Sho-Air), the runner-up in the 2011 race Kelli Emmett (Colorado Springs, Colo./Giant Mountain Bike Team) and Kelly Boniface (Steamboat Springs, Colo./MOOTS).

The one-day event begins with the professional/elite men beginning at 9 a.m. before the professional/elite women start five minutes later. Following those two groups, riders will contest the course in age groups. The event will also include non-championship, age-group races. The non-championship contests will start in three-minute intervals beginning with the 19-29 men at 9:15 a.m. They are followed by the 30-34 men, 35-39 men, 40-44 men, 45-49 men, singlespeed men and the 50-and-over men begin their race at 9:33 a.m. The non-championship women’s races begin three minutes later as the 19-29 and 30-39 women begin their race at 9:36 a.m. At 9:39 a.m., the 40-49 and singlespeed females take the course and the 50-and-over are the last group to start at 9:42 a.m.

The course has been lengthened from 52 miles in 2011 to 54 miles this year. The 54-mile loop starts and finishes at Wanoga Sno Park. Riders will climb a total of 6,000 feet as they compete. There will be four aid stations along the course.

“We’ve given the riders a really hard and challenging course for this year’s national championship,” USA Cycling Vice President of National Events Micah Rice said. “We will certainly crown the best endurance rider we have out there.”

The event concludes with the awards ceremony slated for 3 p.m. at the awards stage near the start/finish line.

On-site registration and packet pick-up at the Old Mill District in south Bend will be open from 12-6 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 14. For additional registration and packet pick-up locations and times, please refer to the event schedule.

Visit the official event webpage of the 2012 USA Cycling Mountain Marathon National Championships for more information on the event, including a complete schedulecourse maptechnical guide, results, photo gallery and more. Follow the event on Twitter using the hashtag #MTBMarathon. For more information on Bend and the surrounding area, go to

Source: Dave Gaylinn

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




VISIT US AT and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.