Graham Agassiz On Top In 2013 Red Bull Rampage Qualifiers – Photo Gallery


Graham Agassiz Canyon Gap Suicide No-Hander - Redbull Rampage Qualifying 2013

From the looks of these photos, losing a day to rain didn’t slow anyone down during Saturday’s Red Bull Rampage qualifying. The top spot was justifiably earned by Graham Agassiz for his suicide no-hander over the 70+ foot canyon gap (above). French rider Pierre Edouard Ferry worked a backflip and a 360 into a fast, smooth run and qualified second (below). The third qualifying position was taken by Thomas Genon of Belgium, who had a super-techy, steep ride (below).

Second Qualifier Pierre Eduard Ferry - Redbull Rampage Qualifying 2013

Second Qualifier Pierre Eduard Ferry

Third Qualifier Thomas Genon - Redbull Rampage Qualifying 2013

Third Qualifier Thomas Genon

The top 12 qualifiers from today will move on to compete tomorrow in the finals, along with the 23 pre-qualified athletes. Each competitior will get two runs in the finals and be judged on style, amplitude, fluidity, and line difficulty. There’s also an award for the Red Bull Rampage Best Trick. Red Bull Rampage is also the final event in the Freeride Mountain Bike World Tour (FMB), and the overall FMB champion will be crowned after the Rampage awards ceremony.

Here are the official results from today’s qualifier. The top 12 qualifiers will move on to compete tomorrow in the finals, along with the 23 pre-qualified athletes:

    1. Graham Agassiz (Canada) – 80.0 points
    2. Pierre Edouard Ferry (France) – 76.25 points
    3. Thomas Genon (Belgium) – 73 points
    4. Mitch Chubey (Canada) – 72 points
    5. Mike Hopkins (Canada) – 69.5 points
    6. Garett Buehler (Canada) – 68.75 points
    7. Brendan Fairclough (Great Britain) – 68.25 points
    8. Paul Basagoitia (USA) – 68 points
    9. Mike Montgomery (USA) – 67.75 points
    10. Kelly McGarry (New Zealand) – 67.25 points
    11. Nico Vink (Belgium) – 66 points
    12. Ramon Hunziker (Switzerland) – 65.25 points
    13. Brendan Howey (Canada) – 63 points
    14. Ryan Howard – (USA) – 60.25 points

The riders who pre-qualified are:

    Andreu Lacondeguy (Spain)
    Antoine Bizet (France)
    Brandon Semenuk (Canada)
    Cam McCaul (USA)
    Cameron Zink USA
    Geoff Gulevich (Canada)
    James Doerfling (Canada)
    Kyle Norbraten (Canada)
    Kyle Strait (USA)
    Logan Binggeli (USA)
    Thomas Vanderham (Canada)
    Tyler McCaul (USA)
    Wil White (USA)

Rob Norbutt is a Salt Lake City based professional action sports photographer. His company, The Infinity Machine, covers combat sports and motorcycle events in Utah and the Mountain West. When not shooting, Rob can be found working on his cauliflower ears at Absolute MMA or exploring Utah on mountain bikes, dirt bikes or his splitboard.


Related Articles

NOTE: There are two ways to comment on our articles: Facebook or Wordpress. Facebook uses your real name and can be posted on your wall while Wordpress uses our login system. Feel free to use either one.

Facebook Comments:

Wordpress Comments:

  • ROTOMON says:

    Why is it they never put in the articles what bikes they ride, grant it if im not mistaken agassiz rides kona… It still would be nice if the king of MTB website would make mention of the machines these dare devils ride. if not mentioned it almost seems like a yahoo article 🙁

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.