Red Bull Rampage 2010 Wrap Up – Videos Photos and Finals

Race Coverage

Red Bull Rampage has come and gone again. As fast as the thunderstorms that unleashed chaos on Saturday’s practice, the Rampage rushed through the red dirt wilderness near Zion National Park – but not without taking its toll on the flesh of the competitors and destroying a few bikes..

Rampage has been called many things: the world’s premier freeride competition, the gnarliest bike event on the planet – you name it, someone has said it. But it really is THE one big bike competition that the United States can claim as its own. While our boys have to travel out of country to get a good World Cup ranking, everyone has to travel to Southern Utah to compete at Rampage. This is THE event that needs to continue for America to stay relevant in the gravity biking world.

This year saw the continuation of the pre-qualified, invite-only crew along with a group of upstarts trying to make their way to the podium. The 2010 event continued in the new tradition of adding wooden structures to what used to be a purely ‘au natural’ course. The manmade stunts, including Oakley’s “Icon Sender” and the monster 60 foot canyon gap sent riders higher, further, and faster down what has become a blend of freeride, slopestyle and downhill race riding.
Cameron Zink put together the best line of the show with a huge 360 off the Icon Sender, a ‘simple’ 40-foot (claimed) step down. This was after cracking his helmet while attempting the same trick on his first run. That 360 put him in first place for this Rampage and also earned him the best trick award. As if that wasn’t enough, the points he earned for winning this year’s Red Bull Rampage.

Red Bull Rampage 2010 Final Results

1. Cameron Zink (USA) 89.2
2. Gee Atherton (GBR) 82.4
3. Darren Berrecloth (CAN) 81.2
4. Andreu Lacondeguy (ESP) 79.0
5. Geoff Gulevich (CAN) 77.2
6. Thomas Vanderham (CAN) 76.6
7. Robbie Bourdon (CAN) 76.0
8. Kyle Strait (USA) 75.6
9. Logan Binggeli (USA) 74.8
10. Kurt Sorge (CAN) 73.0
11. Alex Prochazka (CAN) 72.2
12. Tyler McCaul (USA) 71.8
13. Graham Agassiz (CAN) 71.0
14. Cedric Gracia (FRA) 70.4
15. Greg Watts (USA) 65.6
16. Michal Marosi (CZE) 64.2
17. Jamie Goldman (USA) 63.8
18. Curtis Robinson (CAN) 62.4

Mike Hopkins (CAN) DNF
Chris Van Dine (USA) DNF
James Doerfling (CAN) DNF

Final’s Video

Berrecloth Helmet Cam

Our man Photo-John from was at Rampage 2010 and sent us back some of these stunning photos.  You can see more at the MTBR Red Bull Rampage 2010 gallery.



More about Zink, photos and gallery on next page…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.