Yeti Fox Factory and National Teams annouced

Teams to contest Enduro World Series and Big Mountain Enduro

News Race Coverage
Yeti Fox Factory and National Teams annouced

Richie Rude faced a tough season in 2017, never quite finding his rhythm. Eight stages wins throughout the season including one stage at the brutal one-day Whistler EWS, proved he still has it to be a major contender. Photo by: Dave Trumpore

For the upcoming season, the Yeti Fox Factory and National Teams will set sights on the international and U.S. race circuits including the Enduro World Series and Big Mountain Enduro. The team will be led by two-time EWS World Champion Richie Rude and returning Yeti National Team riders, Shawn Neer and Jubal Davis. Neer locked down the BME overall title last year and is looking to do the same in 2018. The pro-team riders will be joined by U21 athlete, Duncan Nason. Nason captured a second-place finish at EWS Aspen in 2017, showing he has the muster to take on more international racing this season.

Yeti Fox Factory and National Teams annouced

Jubal Davis joined the team for four EWS races last season. This experience combined with his sheer track speed and bike-handling skills put him on solid footing for 2018. Photo by: Dave Trumpore

Additionally, with a history of creating some of the best mountain bike racers in the industry, Yeti will continue to focus efforts on younger enduro racers through the Yeti Devo Team. Utah Siblings Bryn (16 years) and Lauren (14 years) Bingham, and Coloradan Quinn Reece (16 years) will round out the youthful group. Each athlete will race throughout the west, including the Big Mountain Enduro Series where the young riders will race and train with Yeti Fox Factory Team athletes.

Yeti Fox Factory and National Teams annouced

Shawn Neer came back from major surgery in 2017 to dominate the local race scene in Colorado, winning the overall title for the Big Mountain Enduro. Photo by: Dave Trumpore

Yeti Cycles president and owner Chris Conroy is eager for the 2018 race season to begin with this diverse group of athletes.

“We have a solid mix of racers for 2018. Our team structure allows racers to move up as they improve, so we’re excited to see how Shawn and Jubal respond at EWS races this year,” Conroy said. “We also expect Richie to return to the dominant form that allowed him to win back-to-back championships.”

Yeti Fox Factory and National Teams annouced

Duncan Nason sealed a second-place finish at EWS Aspen last year showing he is a contender on the international race scene. Photo by: Dave Trumpore

Mechanical support will continue to be led by experienced and long-time head mechanic, Shaun Hughes. He will be assisted by Nate Espinosa. Hughes and Espinosa worked in lockstep domestically supporting Yeti athletes in 2017 and will be taking their teamwork internationally to numerous EWS stops. Damion Smith will continue to manage the team and looks forward to building on Yeti’s legacy of racing.

“Yeti is synonymous with racing. It is in our DNA,” Smith said. “We are stoked to see how Richie, Jubal and Shawn push each other this year. Each athlete is extremely unique in what they bring to the table in terms of speed, experience, style and raw talent.”

Yeti Fox Factory and National Teams annouced

Richie Rude’s game face.

After two years in turquoise for the Yeti Fox Factory Team, Cody Kelley will be departing from Yeti Cycles. Kelley sealed a career-best EWS finish with a ninth place at EWS Aspen. His unmistakable style and skill pushed the limits of other Yeti team members. Yeti wishes Kelley the best as he continues on the EWS circuit.

Yeti Fox Factory Team will kick off the season at the first stop of the EWS circuit in Lo Barnechea, Chile at the end of March.

About the author: Mtbr is a site by mountain bikers for mountain bikers. We are the best online resource for information for mountain bikers of all abilities, ages and interests.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.